Squeeze It In

I am known for “squeezing in workouts”. If I request to meet you at 4PM or 7 PM during the week, know that I will either be dashing off to the pool or meeting you with wet hair. Yesterday was no exception.

I was meeting a friend at Cederburg Tea House for afternoon tea. I didn’t expect to revisit it so soon, but was more than happy to share a pot of rooibos tea, knitted tea cozy and all. But, given the thunder snow and traffic storm from the day before, I was forced to skip a Monday swim.

Before I met my friend, I looked up the pool, which I knew was just around the corner and planned out my evening. Should I swim before or after meeting her? Swimming after meant I’d be watching the clock, but if I swam before, I’d have unlimited time to hang out, and I could enjoy as many pasties, tarts and cookies as I wanted. Luckily, there was an early swim time.

I started a 3×500 set, but didn’t finish. I also amended it, so as to have time to finish the second 500.

Main set, 500 Ladder

50 Fly, free
100 Back, free, breast, free
150 Fly, free, back, free, breast, free
200 IM
150 Fly, free, back, free, breast, free
100 Back, free, breast, free
50 Breast, free

My second 500 was an odd free, evens IM. (Numbers 1, 3, 5 free, and 2, 4 IM.)

Swimming beforehand relaxed me and worked up a healthy appetite for tea treats. It was worth the coordination.

If I only have half an hour and know that I will not have time to workout after, I will either wake up early and do a Fitness Blender HIIT workout, or plan to run after work/before the event. Sometimes, I also do a short HIIT work out at the work gym. For that reason, I always have extra workout clothes in my car and my swim bag has shower supplies, so I am always prepared to be active.

What types of workouts do you do when you are short on time?

Leave a Reply

