Being Sick

Well, it was bound to happen, I got sick. The funny thing is that I didn’t realize I was sick. One of my typical symptoms is that I get delirious. At the moment, though, I attributed it to other life events, even though I fully recognized that I was overreacting. In an angry fit, I decided to sleep, even though it was only 4 PM. My idea was that I’d nap, and then go take a fitness class, figuring that I needed something fun and different to jolt me out of my bad attitude.

I woke up at 7:30 PM, experienced more delirium, and then slept until my alarm went off the next day for work. I hit the snooze a million times before getting up, but when I did, I realized that my entire body was aching. There was no way I’d make it into work, so I called in sick and went back to bed. I slept most of the day.

The things that make me feel better: Noodle soup (a can of pumpkin puree, a can of coconut milk, seasonings to taste, all mixed together, then add cooked noodles), Flavor Blasted Goldfish, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, books, books on tape, blankets, and hot tea. I tried all of those, minus the Goldfish, because I couldn’t move very far, let alone drive and wander around the grocery store. Various combinations of the above always help my general well being when I am sick, even if they do nothing to solve the actual problem.

Anyhow, being sick has put a temporary damper on our walking city adventure for the weekend. Homsey convinced a friend that they should city hike and not go to the mountains, so that I could join them, but then I got sick. I’ll probably take a yoga class and call it good for the day, as I’m still pretty achey.

What do you do to get better when you are sick? What typical symptoms do you have?

Leave a Reply

