Protein, protein, protein

Thursday morning, I had a car appointment so I had extra time before leaving home to get stuff done. Here’s what I did:

  • Hit snooze an extra time
  • Considered going to the early morning lap swim, but decided against it because I’d only get they minutes in
  • Started a load of laundry and hung it to dry
  • Did a thirty minute HIIT workout video, courtesy of Fitness Blender
  • Ate breakfast, overnight steel cut oats with honey, protein powder, among milk, almond butter, a dash of salt and a sliced banana

I’ve been eating high protein breakfasts to get through the morning without snacking because I started an Invisalign treatment on Tuesday. Because it’s so new, I have not yet gotten the hang of removing my trays without a) inducing my gag reflex or b) without pain. It’s such an ordeal to remove them that I’d rather not do it any more times than absolutely necessary. So, this week, I stacked breakfast and brushing my teeth.

I am normally a constant snacker. Indeed, a co-worker once said, “Every time I look up, you’re eating. How are you not grossly over weight?” Actually, I am sure I am not eating enough. Here’s a typical day, pre-Invisalign:

  • 6:30 Breakfast: two eggs, saint and pepper, sometimes with crackers
  • 9:00-10:00 Snack: sliced fruit
  • 11:00 Lunch: leafy green salad
  • 1:00-2:00 Snack: cheese stick, chips, scavenge leftover potlucks, fruit, anything
  • 4:00 Snack: fruit… But by this time, I’m hangry and shaky
  • 7:30 Dinner: vegetable and plant based protein

Lately, I have been making a concerted effort to eat more protein at lunch, which means including beans and fewer salads. I tried things like: curry, stew, quinoa and beans, lentil dishes, and other nutritious, filling foods. It has been keeping the crazed cookie monster at bay, but I still moderately snacked. However, now, I am forced to eliminate snacking, and, if I am too hungry, I tend to get angry, impatient and unpleasant. So that means I need to eat more substantial meals.

This week’s lunches that I remember: quesadilla, fruit and cake; two slices of pizza, ice cream and cake. The cake was a fluke, but you get the point, large meals. We will see how this works. I was only able to swoon twice and I expect that in a normal swim week, I will have a bigger appetite.

Next week, I am on travel, so this will be a double adventure: Invisalign eating and hotel workouts.

Do you have any tips for eating substantially?

Leave a Reply

