Playing with the Big Boys

On an off day, and arriving late, my lane was occupied by a pair of medium swimmers who looked like they needed the lane more than me. I joined the Very Fast lane, and hung with the fast guys. All I could think of was the song, Playing with the Big Boys, from The Prince of Egypt, although, I could not remember that it was from that movie in the moment.

I was very conscious of staying out of their way, and was congratulating myself for mastering my flip turns (more or less). I always watch other swimmers for technique and just because I am nosy. I wondered if anyone (a non-regular) was admiring me, being at least a foot shorter than the guys and in my nerdy Canadian cap, for being in the Very Fast lane. Probably not, but it was fun to think about how fast I looked, by proxy.

J arrived even later than I did, so I migrated over, which was enough to cause a slow drift out of our lane (the slower swimmers vacated). And we finished up the evening with a solid set of IMs. He even said I was fast and pushing him. Fast by proxy!

  • 100 Free
  • 4×100 IMs
  • 100 Free
  • 4×75 IMs
Leave a Reply

